Of the security systems for homes you can install yourself in 2026, the one I’d buy for most people is the Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit, and it suits a house or apartment with up to four doors and windows worth watching. You’ve got a budget in mind and one nagging doubt: is the price on the box the real price, or does a monthly bill start the day you plug it in? That doubt is the right one to have, because it decides which of these three kits you should buy.
Here’s the short version. Ring’s hardware works without a plan, but the phone features most people expect sit behind a subscription. If that annoys you on principle, there’s a kit with no monthly fee at all, and it comes with its own compromises.
In this guide
Who Wins, and for Whom
All three are DIY home security system kits: a hub, a keypad, stick-on sensors, no installer and no contract. They differ in what the hub does and in what you pay after the first day.
- For most people: the Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit. Four door and window sensors, a motion detector, a loud siren in the base station, and optional professional monitoring you can add or drop.
- On a budget, or allergic to subscriptions: the eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit. Two entry sensors, one motion sensor, phone alerts and phone arming with no monthly fee.
- If money is no object: the Ring Alarm Pro 8-Piece Kit. The same sensors as the standard Ring kit, with an eero Wi-Fi 6 router built into the base station and backup internet for the whole house on a paid plan.
Every pick here is collected in my Amazon storefront if you’d rather compare them in one place.
Newsletter
One email a week, and only when there is something in it
Every guide I published or rewrote that week, up to six of them, each with a line on who it is for and what it settles. No prices, no deals, nothing else.
It goes out on Thursday mornings. In a week when nothing new went up, nothing is sent.
Your address goes to MailerLite, who deliver the email, and nowhere else. Every email has an unsubscribe link. The email ends with one link to my Amazon storefront, and as an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Privacy policy.
Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit
Top Pick
Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit
Most houses and apartments with up to four doors and windows to cover
Key specs
- 1 Base Station, 1 Keypad, 4 Contact Sensors, 1 Motion Detector, 1 Range Extender
- 104 decibel siren in the base station (Ring's figure)
- Backup battery of up to 24 hours
- Wi-Fi or Ethernet to your router, Z-Wave to the sensors
- Optional professional monitoring, no contract
Reasons to buy
- Four contact sensors in the box cover a typical two-door home
- Peel-and-stick setup that published reviews put at about an hour
- Shares one app with Ring doorbells and cameras
Reasons to avoid
- Arming and disarming from your phone needs a paid plan
- Cellular backup and the keypad's emergency buttons need a subscription too
- One review reports the base station failing to join Wi-Fi at first
Full specs and support: ring.com
Ring lists eight pieces in this box: one Base Station, one Keypad, four Contact Sensors, one Motion Detector and one Range Extender. That count matters more than it sounds. Four contact sensors cover a front door, a back door and two windows, which is the layout of a lot of ordinary homes, and the motion detector catches anyone who comes in some other way.
The base station is the part that earns its place. Ring’s spec sheet gives it a 104 decibel siren, a backup battery good for up to 24 hours, and both Wi-Fi and Ethernet, so you can put it where the siren will be heard instead of wherever your router happens to live. The keypad and sensors talk to it over Z-Wave, which Ring rates at 250 feet in open air, and the range extender is in the box for the far end of a long house.
Daily use is where the published reviews are kindest. Security.org’s 2026 review describes peel-and-stick sensors that need no drill and a setup that took no more than an hour, and its reviewers say the motion detector ignored a 50-pound dog on its lowest sensitivity setting. If you already own a Ring doorbell or camera, the alarm lives in the same app, and that convenience is the real reason this kit beats the alternatives for most households.
Small details add up over years of ownership. Ring lists the contact sensors at up to three years on their coin cell batteries, and the keypad has three modes (Disarmed, Home and Away), so you can arm the doors at night while the motion detector stays off for anyone walking to the kitchen. The warranty is one year, which is ordinary for security systems for homes at this level and nothing to brag about.
eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit
Budget Pick
eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit
Renters and small homes with two doors who never want a monthly fee
Key specs
- HomeBase 2 hub, keypad, motion sensor, 2 entry sensors
- No monthly fees (eufy's own wording)
- Motion sensor: 100 degree coverage up to 30 feet
- Sensor batteries listed at 2 years, keypad at 6 months
Reasons to buy
- Phone alerts and phone arming included with no subscription
- Geofencing arms and disarms as you leave and return
- Long listed battery life on the sensors
Reasons to avoid
- Reviewers and owners report a weak or unreliable hub siren
- The hub has to be cabled to your router
- Only two entry sensors in the box
This is the home security system without monthly fee strings attached. eufy’s product page says “No Monthly Fees” in plain words and lists a HomeBase 2 hub, a keypad, a motion sensor and two entry sensors. Phone alerts, arming and disarming from the app, and custom modes are all part of the purchase.
Two entry sensors is a small number. It covers a front and back door and nothing else, so a ground-floor apartment with one door and a patio slider is the natural fit, and a four-bedroom house is not unless you buy more sensors. The motion sensor has a 100 degree view out to 30 feet on eufy’s spec sheet, with a sensitivity setting meant to stop pets tripping it.
Battery life is long on paper: eufy lists two years for the motion and entry sensors and six months for the keypad. Livingetc’s review liked the instant phone alerts and the geofencing, which arms the system when you leave and disarms it when you come back. For a renter who wants to know the door opened while they were at work, that’s the whole job done, once, with nothing to cancel later.
Think of it as a notifier more than a deterrent. Most security systems for homes sell you a loud box first and an app second; this one is the other way round. If a message on your phone is what you’d act on anyway, that order suits you fine.
Ring Alarm Pro 8-Piece Kit
Upgrade Pick
Ring Alarm Pro 8-Piece Kit
Small homes that need a new router and want backup internet when the broadband drops
Key specs
- 1 Alarm Pro Base Station, 1 Keypad, 4 Contact Sensors, 1 Motion Detector, 1 Range Extender
- Built-in eero Wi-Fi 6 router, up to 1500 sq. ft. (Ring's figure)
- 104 decibel siren, backup battery of up to 24 hours
- 24/7 Backup Internet with 3GB of cellular data a month on a paid plan
Reasons to buy
- Alarm hub and main router in one box
- Keeps the whole home online over cellular during an outage, with a plan
- Works with eero extenders for more Wi-Fi coverage
Reasons to avoid
- Backup internet needs a subscription and is capped at 3GB a month
- The built-in router is dual-band Wi-Fi 6, modest next to a current mesh
- On battery it drops to a low power mode with only some features
Same keypad, same four contact sensors, same motion detector, same range extender. What changes is the base station, which has an eero Wi-Fi 6 router inside it. Ring lists that router at up to 1500 square feet of coverage, 75 or more devices and speeds up to 900 Mbps, and it becomes the main router in your home.
Why would an alarm need a router? Because of what happens when your internet drops. With a compatible Ring subscription, the Pro base station switches the whole house to cellular data, and Ring includes 3GB a month for that. Your laptop keeps its video call, your cameras keep uploading, and the alarm stays online.
That’s a real feature for anyone who works from home on a flaky connection. It’s also the pick I’d talk most people out of, for a reason covered below: you’re buying a router whether you need one or not. If you were about to replace an old router anyway and your home is small, the sums can work. If you already run a good mesh, such as one from my Wi-Fi 7 mesh guide, they don’t.
Coverage can grow, at a cost. Ring says eero extenders, sold separately, widen the Wi-Fi beyond the base station’s own reach, so a bigger house isn’t ruled out. By then you’ve bought an alarm, a router and extenders from one company, and you should be sure you want all three from the same place before you start.
Head-to-Head
Every figure in this table is the maker’s own, taken from its product page. Where a maker doesn’t publish a number, the table says so instead of guessing.
| Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit | eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit | Ring Alarm Pro 8-Piece Kit | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Door and window sensors | 4 | 2 | 4 |
| Motion sensors | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Keypad | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Range extender | 1 | None in the box | 1 |
| Siren (maker’s figure) | 104 decibels | Not stated on the product page | 104 decibels |
| Backup battery in the hub | Up to 24 hours | Not stated on the product page | Up to 24 hours, in a low power mode |
| Built-in router | No | No | eero Wi-Fi 6, up to 1500 sq. ft. |
| Arm and disarm from your phone | Needs a paid plan | Included | Needs a paid plan |
| Monthly fee | Optional | None | Optional, but the router’s backup internet needs one |
Read the bottom two rows twice. The Ring Alarm vs eufy decision is mostly in those rows, and it’s the opposite of what the box prices suggest.
Where Each One Falls Short
Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit. Ring’s own product page says arming and disarming from your phone needs a subscription, sold separately, and so does Alarm Cellular Backup. Security.org adds that the keypad’s fire, police and medical buttons only work with a monitoring subscription. So without a plan you have a keypad, sensors and a very loud siren, which is a proper alarm, but it isn’t the app-controlled system the marketing photos imply. The same review also reports the base station failing to join Wi-Fi on the first few attempts during setup.
eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit. The siren is the weak point. Livingetc’s reviewer could not get the HomeBase siren to work at all, and owners on eufy’s own community forum describe it as too quiet to hear from another room. The same review says the HomeBase has to be cabled to your router by Ethernet, which puts your only siren wherever the router sits, and it found the app slow when adding devices. There’s also no cellular backup listed anywhere on eufy’s page, so if the internet goes down, I’d assume the phone alerts go with it.
Ring Alarm Pro 8-Piece Kit. Every limit of the standard Ring kit applies, plus a few of its own. The built-in router is dual-band Wi-Fi 6 rated for 1500 square feet, which is modest next to a current mesh system, and the feature you’re paying extra for (whole-home backup internet) needs a subscription and stops at 3GB a month unless you pay for more data. On battery power, Ring says the base station drops into a low power mode where only some features keep running. Local video storage needs a microSD card you buy separately and a paid plan as well.
How I Narrowed It Down
My method is research, not testing: this guide is built from the manufacturers’ spec sheets and from published testing and owner feedback reported by named outlets, and it was drafted with AI assistance.
I started with eight security systems for homes from four makers: Ring’s five current Alarm kits (the 5-piece, 8-piece and 14-piece, and the Pro 8-piece and Pro 14-piece), eufy’s 5-piece kit, and the starter packages from SimpliSafe and Abode. Three made the list. They were judged on three things, in this order.
- What works with no subscription. A security system you stop paying for should still be a security system. I read each maker’s page for the exact features locked behind a plan.
- Sensors in the box against a real floor plan. Count your ground-floor doors and the windows someone could reach. A kit that covers half of them isn’t cheaper, it’s unfinished.
- What happens in an outage. Battery backup in the hub, and whether anything keeps the alarm online when the broadband is down.
SimpliSafe is the obvious name missing. Security.org rates it the best DIY system of 2026, and I don’t argue with that verdict. I left it out because its “8 piece” package is listed with different contents on different pages of its own site (a glassbreak sensor on one, an indoor camera on another), and I won’t point you at a box when I can’t tell you what’s in it.
Abode went the other way. It has the best smart home story of the lot, but Security.org notes its self-monitoring plans have no cellular backup, and its hub choices make it a project more than a purchase. Ring’s 5-piece kit lost on arithmetic: one contact sensor is not enough for a home with two doors.
Skip These If…
You want someone else to fit it and answer for it. All three of these are stick-it-up-yourself kits. If the idea of pairing sensors in an app makes you tired, a professionally installed system with a service contract is a better use of your money, even though it costs more over the years.
Your household runs on Apple gear. None of my picks is built around Apple’s Home app. Security.org’s roundup singles out Abode for HomeKit compatibility, and that’s where I’d look first.
Seeing who’s at the door is all you’re after. That’s a camera problem, not an alarm problem. A video doorbell answers it for less, and you can add an alarm kit later if the doorbell makes you want more.
There’s one door and no reachable windows. A studio or an upper-floor flat doesn’t need four contact sensors. Ring sells a 5-piece version of the same system with one contact sensor and one motion detector, and it’s the sensible buy there.
Three Questions Before You Buy
Do security systems for homes need a monthly fee?
No, but check what you lose without one. eufy’s kit has no fee and keeps its phone features. Ring’s kits keep the keypad, the sensors and the siren, and Ring’s page says phone arming and cellular backup need a plan.
Professional monitoring, where a call centre can send help when the alarm trips and you don’t answer, always costs money. Ring offers it without a contract, and Security.org’s review says you can cancel at any time. If you travel a lot or the house sits empty all day, that’s the one subscription I think is worth paying for.
How many sensors do I need?
One contact sensor for every outside door, and one for every ground-floor window that’s hidden from the street. Then one motion sensor in the hallway everything leads to. For a typical two-door house that’s four contact sensors and one motion detector, which is exactly the Ring 8-piece box.
Don’t try to cover every window on day one. Both Ring and eufy sell extra sensors singly, so start with the doors and add from there.
What happens when the power or internet goes out?
Ring lists a backup battery of up to 24 hours in both base stations, so the siren and sensors keep working through a power cut. Staying connected to the outside world is another matter: cellular backup is a subscription feature on both Ring kits.
A tired router is the other half of this. An alarm that drops off Wi-Fi twice a week will train you to ignore it, so if yours is struggling, fix that first; my Archer AX55 vs AX73 comparison covers two affordable replacements.
Buy Once, Buy Right: The Bottom Line
- Smallest budget: the eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit, if you have two doors to cover and never want a monthly bill.
- Middle of the road: the Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit, the best home alarm kit 2026 has for an ordinary house, with or without monitoring.
- Biggest budget: the Ring Alarm Pro 8-Piece Kit, only if you need a new router too and want backup internet badly enough to pay for the plan.
All three are in my Amazon storefront with the rest of the site’s picks. With my own money, in a house with a front door, a back door and a couple of low windows, I’d buy the standard Ring kit, put the base station in the hallway, and decide about monitoring after a month of living with it.
Sources
- Ring: Alarm Security Kit, 8-Piece (2nd Generation) — Kit contents, 104 dB siren, 24-hour battery, Z-Wave range, which features need a subscription
- Ring: Alarm Pro Security Kit, 8-Piece — Built-in eero Wi-Fi 6 router figures, 24/7 Backup Internet terms, low power mode, local storage requ
- eufy: 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit — Kit contents, No Monthly Fees, motion sensor coverage, battery life, app features
- Security.org: Ring Alarm 2nd Generation review (2026) — Setup time, pet sensitivity, keypad emergency buttons, Wi-Fi setup complaint, no-contract monitoring
- Livingetc: eufy Home Alarm Kit review — Ethernet-only hub placement, siren not working, slow app, instant alerts and geofencing
- Security.org: Best self-install home security systems of 2026 — SimpliSafe as best DIY system, Abode HomeKit support and lack of cellular backup on self-monitoring
All of my current picks in one place: the Everyday Tech Reviews Amazon storefront.
Related guides
- Best Wi-Fi 7 Mesh System 2026: 3 Picks Worth the Money
- Archer AX55 vs AX73, Which Router Is Worth It in 2026
- Mesh Wi-Fi Setup 2026: 4 Best Kits and Node Placement Tips
